Get your Anne Boleyn B necklace

Into the Valley of Death by A.L. Berridge

Posted By Claire on April 30, 2013

Into the Valley of DeathToday’s review is by Penelope Wright. Thanks Penny!

Before I started this book my knowledge of the Crimean War was limited to Florence Nightingale, Tennyson’s poem and the film of the Charge of the Light Brigade.

This exciting spy story woven into the fabric of the history of the Crimean Campaign was fascinating, kept me guessing and wanting more. Berridge used her research to make this a believable reason for many of the poor leadership decisions. I can thoroughly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical novels based on fact and spy intrigues.

Book Blurb

From Amazon.com:
“Into the Valley of Death” is the first in A.L. Berridge’s “Crimean War” series. 1854 – The Allied armies prepare to besiege the Russian stronghold in the Crimea. Harry Ryder is a maverick hero. Resentful of the army that destroyed his father and his own career, he has no time for incompetent commanders. He clashes with his superiors as fiercely as he fights the Russians. Four men, one woman and a game of cards will change everything and alter the course of a war.

Something evil has crept into the ranks of the British Army’s own officers, an unknown enemy who plans lure men to ruin on the battlefields. The only path to victory lies in uncovering the truth, but to find it and confront his own destiny Ryder must charge with the Light Brigade into the Valley of Death itself…

From A.L. Berridge, Top Ten Bestselling author of “Honour and the Sword”, comes “Into the Valley of Death”; the first in a sensational new series set to the bloody backdrop of the Crimean war. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden, “Into the Valley of Death” is a masterpiece of exhilarating historical adventure. So begins a thrilling new series set in the midst of a brutal war that shifted the balance of power in Europe and set the stage for World War One.

Praise for A.L. Berridge: “Fast-moving, exciting historical fiction …bringing the Crimea back to life …It’s pitch-perfect, breakneck writing”. (Conn Iggulden). “The novel opens at a cracking pace and accelerates…A. L. Berridge has done it again – quite simply superb”. (“The Historical Novel Society”). “Explodes into life, drama and action on every page. This truly is an outstanding book”. (Parmenion Books).

Book Details

UK Paperback: 512 pages
Publisher: Penguin (11 April 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 024195410X
ISBN-13: 978-0241954102

US Hardcover: 480 pages
Publisher: Michael Joseph (May 1, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0718158989
ISBN-13: 978-0718158989

Available from Amazon.com as hardback or Kindle, Amazon UK as paperback or kindle, or your usual bookstore.

Comments

Leave a Reply